My 30 Ballpark Summer


Well, the holidays are officially over.  The decorations are away and we are all well on our way to breaking our new years resolutions.  It is currently 4 degrees outside of my house and I am patiently awaiting spring training. During this time my wife and I wonder where would we like to go on any trips this year and if we are going to make it to any Phillies games.  The latter part of that planning, the Phillies games, leads me to wonder if we could plan a couple trips and see some other stadiums as well.  Usually I get overruled on the other cities but we at least make it to the Phils. Today’s book is about one man’s journey and his trek to visit all 30 of the MLB stadiums.

My30Ballpark_eBkCvr_Delphi

By:Tobey Shiverick-2016

I will be honest, a trip like this is my ultimate dream.  Checking out each stadium and every team that calls each one home.  This will be my retirement plan, just no one can tell my wife yet.  So for now, I have to live vicariously through Tobey Shiverick.

Shiverick brings us along his 18 flight, five month, 34,000 mile baseball journey.  He walks us through his experience at each stadium and gives us the highs or lows that he feels each has to offer.  He gives the reader the general vibe of the stadium and that of the teams fans.  I can only attest to Philadelphia, but he did have a pretty good read on Citizens Bank Park after only one game.

For a true baseball fan this would be the ultimate experience.  For fans from the same generation as the author, you also get the added bonus of being able to compare the stadiums of yesteryear to the modern palaces of today.  From Ebbets Field, to Dodger Stadium, The Polo Grounds to the palace in San Fran and of course, Yankee Stadium vs. that new one they built across the street.

Even fans of my generation would be able to do the some comparison to a lesser degree.  We would be able to do Shea Stadium to Citi Field,  Veterans Stadium to Citizens Bank Park and Three Rivers to PNC Park.  None of those generate heart palpitations in the spectrum of great stadiums, but does help foster some nostalgia nonetheless.

This book may be geared more to the older crowd versus the younger fan, mostly because the older generations would be able to afford this type of journey.  The expense has to be enormous between stops in 30 cities, hotel rooms, travels and meals.   The average fan would have a hard time being able to pony up the cash to pull this one off.  Also the print in this book is a little bigger than a lot of books I come across, so I am assuming they are expecting an older crowd reading the book.  Quite honestly, I read so many books that I appreciated the larger print for a change.

Fans should check this out.  Even if you are not able to do a 30 park tour, this book would be able to help you pick even one new park to check out.  It has endless value for fans in getting a feel for those parks they have never been to.

You can get this book from the nice folks at Summer Game Books

My 30 Ballpark Summer

Happy Reading

Gregg

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. shaman1993

    My 14 year old son and I have been doing this for the last four summers and so far we have hit 19 MLB parks and a myriad of minor league ones as well. We are having a blast doing it, watching the baseball and interacting with the fans in each city.

    To chronicle our journey we are also blogging about the parks, the cities, the fans, the ballpark food and the culture along the way. If interested you can read about our adventures at

    http://www.jimkulhawy.blogspot.com

    The blog is entitled “Rounding The Bases: A Father, His Son and Their Baseball Adventures,” and the first post is called “The Pre-Game Show”, from 2012.Please feel free to read, comment and/or contact me at

    shaman1993@verizon.net

    Happy Ballparking,

    Jim

    Like

  2. Pingback: My 30 Ballpark Summer | Gregg's Baseball Bookcase

Leave a Reply

